SAFe for Architects (ARCH)

SAFe for Architects (ARCH)

Attendees can improve collaboration and alignment in a SAFe® Lean-Agile enterprise when they become a SAFe 5 Architect. The SAFe® for Architects course prepares System, Solution, and Enterprise Architects to engage across the organization as effective leaders and change agents who collaboratively deliver architectural solutions. During this three-day course, attendees will explore the roles, responsibilities, and mindset of Agile Architects, and appreciate how to align architecture with business value and drive continuous flow to large systems-of-systems while supporting SAFe program execution.
This course is for senior technical contributors who need to understand the role of System, Solution, and Enterprise Architects in Lean-Agile enterprises. The course is also appropriate for individuals desiring a deeper view into how architecture enables continuous value flow and how architects engage in, and contribute to, a Lean-Agile enterprise.
Attending the class prepares individuals to take the exam and become a certified SAFe® 5 Architect (ARCH)

Learning Goals
To perform the role of a SAFe® Architect attendees should be able to:

  • Architect using SAFe principles
  • Align architecture with business value
  • Develop and communicate architecture vision and intent
  • Plan architectural runway to enable delivery success
  • Architect for continuous delivery and Release on Demand
  • Lead and coach architects and team members during Program Increment (PI) Planning and execution
  • Provide leadership during a Lean-Agile transformation
Topics Covered
  • Exemplifying Lean-Agile architecture
  • Architecting for DevOps and Release on Demand
  • Aligning architecture with business value
  • Developing Solution Vision, Solution Intent, and Roadmaps
  • Preparing architecture for Program Increment (PI) Planning
  • Coordinating architecture throughout PI Planning
  • Supporting Continuous Delivery during PI execution
  • Supporting new Strategic Themes and Value Streams
  • Leading as an architect during a Lean-Agile transformation
What Attendees Get
The class registration includes:

  • Attendee workbooks
  • Eligibility to take the SAFe® 5 Architect (ARCH) exam
  • One-year membership to the SAFe Community Platform
  • Course certificate of completion
Who will benefit?

The following individuals will benefit from this course:

  • System, Solution, and Enterprise architects
  • Architects in supporting technical disciplines
  • Experienced software developers
  • Technical managers making architectural decisions
  • Product leaders collaborating with architects
Those who attend this course should be familiar with Agile principles and practices and must have attended at least one SAFe course prior to attending this one.

SAFe Certification Kit
Attendees who pass the certification exam will receive:

  • SAFe® 5 Architect certificate
  • A SAFe® 5 Architect digital badge to promote your accomplishment online
  • A one-year certified membership as a SAFe® 5 Architect, which includes access to the ARCH Community of Practice
  • Access to a variety of learning resources to support certified professionals during their SAFe journey
Annual Renewal
Certifications expire one year from the date the certification is earned.

  • Renewal fee is $295
Exam Details
  • Exam name: SAFe® 5 Architect
  • Exam format: Multiple choice; Multiple select
  • Exam delivery: Web-based (single-browser), closed book, no outside assistance, timed
  • Exam access:  Candidates can access the exam within the SAFe Community Platform upon completion of the SAFe® 5 Architect course
  • Exam duration: Once the exam begins, candidates have 120 minutes (2.0 hours) to complete the exam
  • Number of questions – 60
  • Passing score – 45 out of 60 (75%)
  • Language – English
  • Exam cost – First exam attempt is included as part of the course registration fee if the exam is taken within 30 days of course completion. Each retake attempt costs $50.
  • Retake policy – Second attempt on exam (first retake) can be done immediately after first attempt. Third attempt requires a 10-day wait. Fourth attempt requires a 30-day wait. 
Professional Development Units (PDUs) and Scrum Education Units (SEUs)
Attendees may be eligible to apply for up to 24 PDUs toward their continuing education requirements with the Project Management Institute (PMI) for PMP, PgMP, and PMI-ACP certifications.

Course Title

SAFe® for Architects

PMI Assigned PDU Claim Code: 4446QCJNXZ

Course Identifier


Talent Triangle PDU Allocation1


3 days




PMI Certification

Project Management (PMP®)


Program Management (PgMP®)


Portfolio Management (PfMP®)


Business Analytics (PMI_PBA®)




Agile (PMI_ACP®)


Risk Management (PMI_RMP®)


Scheduling (PMI_SP®)


2Instructional hours spent on each area of the PMI Talent Triangle
2Technical numbers for each certification cannot exceed the technical number listed here


A Certified SAFe® 5 Architect (ARCH) is a leader and change agent who ensures the effective creation of business value through Agile architecture. They are competent in applying SAFe® principles to develop and maintain Agile Architecture, Leading Solution Trains, and Agile Release Trains, thus driving continuous flow to large systems-of-systems and ensuring an improved flow of value.
There are no specific prerequisites to attend the SAFe® for Architects course, however it is recommended that the participants must have attended at least one SAFe® course and must have participated in at least one ART and one PI(Program Increment)

Getting a SAFe® for Architects certification from Scaled Agile can provide you with many benefits such as:

  • They can align architecture with business value
  • Plan architectural runway for effective and successful delivery
  • Develop and communicate architectural vision and mission
  • Leadership and coaching architects and team members during Program increment Planning and execution
  • Provide leadership during a Lean-Agile transformation
You can take up the first attempt of the exam anytime after completing the SAFe® for Architects training. The second attempt can be taken immediately after the first attempt. The third attempt can be taken after waiting for 10 days and the fourth attempt requires a 30-day wait.
The SAFe® for Architects comprises 45 out of 60 multiple choice questions (75% passing marks) which need to be completed in a duration of 2 hours. Candidates can have access to the certification exam within the SAFe® Community Platform after completion of the SAFe® for Architects course.
The first attempt of the SAFe® for Architects certification exam is included as part of the course registration fee if the exam is taken within 30 days of training completion. Each retake for the exam costs $50.
In order to attain SAFe® for Architects certification, candidates are required to attend the 3-day SAFe® for Architects comprehensive training. They must successfully pass an online exam at the end of the course with a minimum of 75%. After clearing the assessment, candidates will get the certification from the Scaled Agile, Inc. Agile Center.
SAFe® for Architects certification is valid for one year and includes membership in the SAFe® Community Platform.
SAFe® for Architects certification needs to be renewed every year. To renew the certification, you need to login to the Scaled Agile Community portal and pay the annual cost of renewal which is $295.