Advance Certified Scrum Master (A-CSM)

Advanced Certified Scrum Master (A-CSM)

You’re a Certified ScrumMaster® (CSM®), who’s been introduced to the Scrum Values, practices, and applications. The next step in your Agile journey is to achieve your Advanced Certified ScrumMaster (A-CSM℠) certification. 

Through the A-CSM, you’ll learn to:

  • Facilitate better dialogue between the Product Owner, Scrum Team members, customers, stakeholders, and executives
  • Respond confidently when encountering resistance to change, lack of engagement, low motivation, and unavailability of key people
  • Increase engagement to encourage greater accountability, commitment, and buy-in
  • Scale Scrum and Agile beyond a single team
  • Build on your foundational knowledge with enhanced implementation skills
  • Distinguish yourself in the global marketplace
  • Stand out in your industry as a member of the globally recognized Scrum Alliance community
  • Show advanced value to your employer (or potential employer) as a highly trained Agile professional
  • Hold a Certified ScrumMaster (CSM) certification with the Scrum Alliance. 
  • Attend a certified A-CSM educational offering to gain techniques and skills that go beyond the basics and mechanics of Scrum, expanding into interaction, facilitation, coaching, and team dynamics.
  • Successfully complete all educator-designed components of an approved educational offering. This may include pre- or post-course work as deemed necessary by your approved educator to complete the learning objectives.
  • Accept the A-CSM License Agreement and complete your Scrum Alliance membership profile.
  • Validate at least 12 months of work experience specific to the role of Scrum Master (within the past five years).

Maintain your A-CSM by earning Scrum Education Units® (SEUs) and renewing your certification every two years. Learn more

NOTE: You may take the A-CSM course at any time after completing your CSM certification, and must have at least 12 months of Scrum Master experience logged into your Scrum Alliance profile before you are eligible to receive your A-CSM certification.

View Our Scrum Alliance Training Schedule



Advanced Certified Scrum Master (A-CSM), is a certification provided by Scrum Alliance after validating the skills of participants that builds on the Certified ScrumMaster (CSM) knowledge. A-CSM focuses on the advanced and next-level of skills and experience that Agile professionals showcase as they come across more challenging issues. A-CSM professionals are highly valued across various industries as they demonstrate the accomplishment of Scrum knowledge to employers.
There are no prerequisites to attend the A-CSM training. But, to receive the A-CSM certification candidates must hold an active CSM certification and validate at least one year of work experience fulfilling the role and responsibilities of a Scrum Master.

The A-CSM certification is widely recognized and highly valuable certification and has many benefits such as:

  • It puts you one step forward to your peers in the global marketplace.
  • It validates your skills as a Scrum Master who can effectively lead large and complex Scrum teams.
  • It showcases your potential as a highly trained Agile professional in front of your employer.
  • The A-CSM certification validates your knowledge as an expert on Scrum processes, values, and techniques.
  • Advanced Certified Scrum Master training develops skills for effective team collaboration and management.
As soon as you finish the Advanced Certified Scrum Master training, you become eligible to receive the certificate from the Scrum Alliance.
There is no set format of the A-CSM certification as it solely depends on Scrum Alliance REPs.
To obtain the A-CSM certification, candidates should attend the training conducted by REP of Scrum Alliance and must complete all of the learning objectives.
Advanced Certified Scrum Master certification is valid for 2 years
To renew the Advanced Certified Scrum Master certification, you need to earn 30 SEUs(Scrum educational units) and must pay a renewal fee of $175 in a 2-year term to keep your certification valid.