Certified Scrum Product Owner (CSPO)

  Certified Scrum Product Owner-(CSPO)

If you’re someone who is comfortable with the “business side” of projects, you are probably the right person to aspire to achieve a Certified Scrum Product Owner® (CSPO®) certification. While the Certified ScrumMaster® (CSM®) helps the Scrum Team work together to learn and implement Scrum, as a CSPO, you create the product vision, order the Product Backlog, and make sure the best possible job is done to delight the customer.
Benefits of a Certified Scrum Product Owner certification:

  • Expand your career opportunities across all industry sectors adopting Agile practices
  • Demonstrate your attainment of core Scrum knowledge
  • Learn the foundation of Scrum and the scope of the Product Owner role
  • Engage with Agile practitioners committed to continuous improvement
  • Attend an in-person, 16-hour course taught by a Certified Scrum Trainer® (CST®). 
  • After successfully completing the course, you will be asked to accept the CSPO License Agreement and complete your Scrum Alliance membership profile.

Maintain your CSPO certification by earning Scrum Education Units® (SEUs) and renewing your certification every two years. 

View Our Scrum Alliance Training Schedule

SOURCE: https://www.scrumalliance.org/get-certified


A Certified Scrum Product Owner is a professional who is responsible for finding features that should be included in the product release by closing working with the user group. They have completed the certified product owner training and are leaders in managing the team to guide the product progress towards success.
The CSPO certification widens the scope of the individual's career opportunities and helps to stack top in-demand Scrum skills with the course and enhance Scrum knowledge for better product development and delivery. Also, the certified professionals benefit from gaining 2-year Scrum Alliance membership where they can join local user groups, online social networks, and earn deep discounts which are only for Scrum Alliance members.
There is no Scrum Alliance product owner exam for the CSPO credential.
The CSPO course is a participation-based certification course. After attending the two-days (16 hours) CSPO course delivered by Certified Scrum Trainers, the individual receives a Certificate from Scrum Alliance stating that they are a Certified Scrum Product Owner, and it also includes a 2-year Scrum Alliance membership.
The CSPO certification is valid for 2-years and needs to pay $100 and submit 20 SEUs to renew it.

You have to renew the CSPO certification every two years by paying $100 as a renewal fee. To renew your certification, you have to log in to the Scrum Alliance website and go to your dashboard. By clicking on ''Actions'' and selecting renew certification, you can renew your CSPO certification.

You would also need to submit your SEUs to renew your certification. Please do the following to submit SEUs towards your certification renewal:

Log into your certification account: https://www.scrumalliance.org/login

In the top right-hand corner, Click “Hello, [Your Name]”

Select “My Dashboard”

You will find a box on the right side of the page titled “Scrum Education Units”, click on the blue button labeled “Manage SEUs”

By using the “select an Activity Type” drop-down menu, choose the category that best fits for your continuing education opportunity.

Complete all the required information fields.

You can earn up to 14-16 PDUs and 14-16 SEUs by attending the CSPO 2-day training program.
The Project Management Institute issues the Professional Development Units (PDUs) and the Scrum Alliance issues the Scrum Educational Units (SEUs) to the candidate after the completion of any certification course. They are given to recognize the participation of the professional and to authenticate the knowledge of the principles and practices of Scrum. To hold your certification from the Scrum Alliance, you should earn a particular SEUs every two years.
PDUs and SEUS recognize your dedication and devotion to Agile and Scrum society. They are given by the Scrum Alliance and Project management Institutes for all the successful ventures that you go through in your career. The Scrum Alliance expects you to earn certain SEUs to renew your certification every two years. The Project Management Institute offers PDUs on many certifications except CAPM certification and expects you to have a specific number of PDUs to renew your certification every three years.