Certified Scrum Master (CSM)

Certified Scrum Master (CSM)

As a Certified ScrumMaster® (CSM®), you’ll help the Scrum Team perform at their highest level. CSMs also protect the team from both internal and external distractions. Through the certification process, you will learn the Scrum framework and gain an understanding of team roles, events, and artifacts.

  • Expand your career opportunities across all industry sectors adopting Agile practices
  • Demonstrate your attainment of core Scrum knowledge
  • Learn the foundation of Scrum and the scope of the role
  • Engage with Agile practitioners committed to continuous improvement
  • Attend an in-person, 16-hour course taught by a Certified Scrum Trainer® (CST®)
  • After successfully completing the course, you will need to take the 50 question CSM test and answer 37 out of the 50 questions correctly within the 60 minute time limit
  • After you pass the CSM test, you will be asked to accept the CSM License Agreement and complete your Scrum Alliance membership profile

Maintain your CSM certification by earning Scrum Education Units® (SEUs) and renewing your certification every two years. 

View Our Scrum Alliance Training Schedule

SOURCE: https://www.scrumalliance.org/get-certified



Certified Scrum Master is a servant leader designated by the Scrum Alliance as a Scrum Practitioner who handles and leads Scrum Teams skillfully. He/she assists and guides the teams to succeed with the Scrum framework.
The candidates gain a high degree of proficiency in executing Scrum, earn skills that make them immune to external and internal distractions. The professional gains recognition as a Scrum Professional in the organization gets higher job opportunities in reputed companies and gets more top salary openings.
After completing CSM training, an email will be sent from the Scrum Alliance, which includes a link to create your login credentials. You will have 90 days to take and complete the test from the day you received the email. Post that extra charges will be applicable for the exam.
The Certified Scrum Master certification exam is an online test that consists of 50 multiple-choice questions to be finished in 60 minutes. You should score a minimum of 37 out of 50 MCQs (74%) to clear the examination.
Yes, the Certified Scrum Master Certification exam fee is included in the course fee.

The step by step process to get the CSM certification is as follows:

Step 1: Register for the CSM certification course with a REP of Scrum Alliance.

Step 2: Attend the 2-day Certified Scrum Master training by the certified Scrum trainer (CSTs)

Step 3: Scrum Alliance will send an email to create login credentials after successful course completion.

Step 4: Create your credentials from the link received by the Scrum Alliance.

Step 5: Take the 60 minutes exam, which consists of 50 MCQs, by logging in through the credentials.

Step 6: Pass the exam with a minimum of 74% (37 of 50 MCQs should be correct).

Step 7: Once you clear the test, you will have to accept the license agreement.

Step 8: After you accept it, you will have CSM designation and a two-year Scrum Alliance membership.

Step 9: You have to renew the certification once every two years.

The registration fee includes the fees for classroom training, the study material provided, exam fees, and a two-year scrum alliance membership.

For renewal of Scrum Master Certification, you have to log in to your Scrum Alliance profile and go to 'Settings,' then click on the 'certification dashboard.' Once you do that, select 'Actions' and click on the renewal link and pay the renewal fee of USD 100 via the payment modes offered.

You would also need to submit your SEUs to renew your certification. Please do the following to submit SEUs towards your certification renewal:

Log into your certification account: https://www.scrumalliance.org/login

In the top right-hand corner, Click “Hello, [Your Name]”

Select “My Dashboard”

You will find a box on the right side of the page titled “Scrum Education Units”, click on the blue button labeled “Manage SEUs”

By using the “select an Activity Type” drop-down menu, choose the category that best fits for your continuing education opportunity.

Complete all the required information fields.

You can earn up to 14-16 PDUs and 14-16 SEUs by attending the CSM 2-day training program.
The Project Management Institute issues the Professional Development Units (PDUs) and the Scrum Alliance issues the Scrum Educational Units (SEUs) to the candidate after the completion of any certification course. They are given to recognize the participation of the professional and to authenticate the knowledge of the principles and practices of Scrum. To hold your certification from the Scrum Alliance, you should earn a particular SEUs every two years.
PDUs and SEUS recognize your dedication and devotion to Agile and Scrum society. They are given by the Scrum Alliance and Project management Institutes for all the successful ventures that you go through in your career. The Scrum Alliance expects you to earn certain SEUs to renew your certification every two years. The Project Management Institute offers PDUs on many certifications except CAPM certification and expects you to have a specific number of PDUs to renew your certification every three years.